Food

Food You Thought Are Vegetarian But Are Most Definitely Not And It Is Outright Shocking

By  | 

Picking out vegetarian food from the non-vegetarian can be difficult. Most of the time it is tough to make out because non-vegetarian foods are disguised as vegetarian foods, making it difficult for vegetarians to understand.

If you are a vegetarian or are planning to be one, here are 10 foods to avoid if you’re serious about an animal-free diet.

Parmesan Cheese

pinterest

pinterest

Parmesan cheese is not a vegetarian food. In order to make Parmesan cheese, an enzyme known as rennet is extracted from the stomachs of young lambs and calves which is used to curdle cheese. Being a vegetarian, you wouldn’t like to consume it until vegetable rennet is used to make Parmesan cheese. Read the label carefully and pick the one which is mentioned as ‘vegetarian’.

Cake Mix

blogspot

blogspot

Believe it or not, it is common for pork fat, or lard, to find its way into the dry ingredients of boxed cake mixes. The best way to avoid this is to check the label for “lard”!

Refried Beans

Tumblr

Tumblr

Beware of the refried beans! Many of the “traditional” or “original” canned refried beans are made with hydrogenated lard or pig fat. Make sure you’re looking for the “vegetarian” label if you’re avoiding animal-based ingredients.

Bagels

Tumblr

Tumblr

When you prepare bagels at home, you use four simple ingredients like water, flour, salt and yeast. But when it is prepared and sold at a large food chain you will be shocked to know that they also add L. Cysteine enzyme that is obtained from the feathers of duck and birds. Yikes!

Potato Chips

huffpost

huffpost

This one broke my heart. Many chips, especially barbecue flavor, contain chicken fat (or schmaltz). Read the ingredients when you pick the potato chips next time and make the right choice.

White Sugar

edmontonjournal

Refined white sugar is bleached in a process that entails running the sugar through “bone char” or “natural carbon” — both fancy terms for charred cattle bones. Confectioner’s and brown sugar can also be culprits, as they are variations of white sugar. Stick to organic cane or turbinado sugar to be safe.

Sandwich And Bun Stuffing

Tumblr

Tumblr

Attending high-tea and brunch parties mean that you will come across a lot of types of sandwiches, buns and croissants. They are usually stuffed with delicious ingredients and tastes very good. However, a vegetarian must take care about the type of stuffing they have. Chicken broth is usually used along with chopped vegetables and, hence, it is disguised as a vegetarian food.

Candies And Jellies

Tumblr

Tumblr

Most of the candies and/or jellies that are found in the market are not vegetarian. This is because they consist of gelatin which comes from animal fat.

Peanuts

hatelaine

hatelaine

Peanuts eaten without any flavors are fine. But ones that are either salted or has spice in them may also have gelatin as well as pig hooves.

You never know what goes into making ‘food’. It is advisable to religiously read through the ingredients listed on the label of the food packaging or look for the green dot symbol before you buy ANY eatable.

Comments

comments